The Queen of Patpong The Fear Artist For the Dead Breathing Water The Fourth Watcher A Nail Through the Heart

Poke Rafferty had written two “rough travel” books set in Asia when he arrived in Thailand to write the next one. 

And Thailand – especially Bangkok –  changed his life forever.

Now married to the former “queen” of the Patpong bars, Rose, with whom he's adopted a daughter off the sidewalks, Miaow, Rafferty finds family life in Bangkok to be more of an adventure than rough travel ever was.  But, after years on the move, he’s also in the process of finding his heart and his personal true North.

Although the books are thrillers, they’re also the continuing story of a hand-made family trying to stay together against all the odds. At this point, Miaow and Rose have as many fans as Poke does.

The series has been nominated for multiple awards, has been on numerous Ten Best lists, and is translated into several languages.

Here’s the order of the Poke Rafferty thrillers:

  • A Nail Through the Heart
  • The Fourth Watcher
  • Breathing Water
  • The Queen of Patpong
  • The Fear Artist
  • For the Dead

Play Rose's theme music by Emmy-award-winning composer Stephen Cohn